Catching Up: Research Methods

After returning from the early October break, our media class took on the study of Research Methods.  Dios mio it was boring.

We began our voyage into the wide, wonderful world of citations, quantitative analysis and variable operationalization with one Yanet Martinez, who unfortunately lacked much proficiency in English but made up for it with an overabundance of confidence in her misinterpretations.  So we had a coup d’etat, and the very generous Amer Abdalla and Alvaro Sierra took over, lecturing and marking, respectively.

This made the class itself much more bearable, but it was still research methods, so yeah.  Terrible.

Our final project for the class, though it is long since over, is due at the end of November; a proposal for our final graduation project, in my case a thesis.

The proposal itself is to be 15-25 pages long, which is actually pretty brutal for what it is.  My thesis is going to be a work of field study and qualitative analysis in Honduras, examining the relationship between government, media and population following the coup by Michelleti and the Supreme Court and the deposement of Zelaya.

Originally, I was planning on concentrating on the issue of legitimacy and how the media either undermined or supported the legitimacy of state government through its actions, but after being quite accurately advised of the overly-ambitious scope of such an undertaking, in that I would need to do thousands if not tens of thousands of surveys and interviews to get an accurate analysis, I have decided to change it up a bit.

Now I’ll be getting into newspaper archives, and perhaps also those of radio and television stations, and analyzing the front page stories following each flashpoint, crisis and major event from June 28th to present.  I’ll be making the assumptions that these media focal points both represent and encourage like-minded thinking amongst the populace, especially urban elites, and drawing conclusions based on my findings and those assumptions.  I’ll also be interviewing a number of journalists, politicians and elites to add some extra perspective.

Apart from being much simpler and more manageable, this change in scope also carries the added benefits of alleviating time constraints, as I no longer need to be there during the crisis points, and I’m also going to be getting press accreditation.  More to come.

Pura vida.

Published in: on 23 November 2009 at 3:40 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jaredsjourneys.wordpress.com/2009/11/23/catching-up-research-methods/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Greetings from a certain forum.

    Sad to see you being purged once again. Since this was the second time I guess you’ve earned the title “Deng Xiaoping”. Anyways, since I won’t be able to read your posts there I guess I’ll have to start following this blog. Which I don’t mind, it’s interesting to read.

    So, uhm, yeah. Keep it up, best of luck with your studies, I’m in Political Science myself, so I guess there’s a chance I’ll try to copy your education. Naw, but seriously, getting in to University for Peace is no small feet.


Leave a Reply

