Tegus Day One: Little Canuck in a Damned Big City

I may or may not be posting tidbits on here each day in Tegucigalpa, but I’ll try.  Tegus is pretty huge, and after 24 hours I still haven’t seen a single other extrajanero (foreigner), even in the touristy part of town.  Which would explain the attention that I don’t seem to be able to help drawing to myself, including taxis bilking me at every chance, which seems all the more depressing after the next-to-free taxis of Costa Rica.

And I will be needing a lot of them.  I had to go across town today for my first meeting with El Heraldo, the most right-wing newspaper of Tegucigalpa.  My plan was to start into their archives today for content analysis, but as it turns out they didn’t have any.  Fuck.  So I got directions that eventually led me to a place called La Hemeroteca, which is where all the newspapers of Tegucigalpa store their archives.  The staff here are unbelievably nice, I just had to give them the dates and newspapers I wanted and they plunked down massive stacks for me.  After working for maybe two minutes, one of the administrators offered to let me use a private workstation so as not to be interrupted, and to give her a list of the dates I would be needing tomorrow and for the next few days.  Great lady.

So today I mostly finalized my plans and schemes for how I’m going to do this; the layout of Honduran newspapers are kind of strange, and I’m going to have to change the format of my analysis somewhat, especially since Heraldo and Tribuna both use a high quantity of very short articles.  The Hemeroteca operates from 8am-4pm, so I’m planning on being their for 6-8 hours for the rest of this week, while in the evenings researching the academic journals I can access online and already have on my laptop, as well as cultivating contacts for interviews.  All things considered, this will be harder than I thought in some ways, and easier in others.

Domestically I’m doing comfortably, set up in an apartment that calls back to a 1930s/40s style of motif in Canada and the US- burlesque, almost.  Sadly, out my window is a giant pizza hut sign.  Consumption-wise I’m living off of quick oats and instant coffee… hooorraaaay.

That’s all for now, expect a trickling of photographs onto the facebook.  I confess that I really don’t like big cities in general, so although I had slotted myself two weeks here I am already quite motivated to get my work done as quickly as possible and punch it for Utila and its cays.

I’m not creative enough to think of 14 people, ideas or collectivities which are individual appropriate to each day I’m here to wish you “Love in”… nor do they use the term “pura vida” in Honduras… so… um… bye.

Published in: on 26 May 2010 at 2:48 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jaredsjourneys.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/tegus-day-one-little-canuck-in-a-big-fucking-city/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

